Our first ever Girls’ National Shield Competition

History was made at Ross County’s Victoria Park ground on Friday 4 September 1998 when Torry Academy beat Golspie High School 3-1 to become the very first winners of the Scottish Schools’ Football Association Girls’ Under 15 Shield.

This final had been held over from the previous season.

On a beautiful balmy evening in Dingwall Torry Academy and Golspie High School served up  an excitiing and entertaining final.

Elaine Gunn of Golspie, who was a constant menace to the Torry defence, opened the scoring in the fifth minute with a left foot drive high into the Torry net.

Then her namesake Sarah Gunn  of Torry Academy, who proved to be the most influential player on view, cracked a low shot into the right hand corner of the Golspie net to equalise.

Play continued to fluctuate up to the interval with Claire Bonner of Golspie and Leeann Pearson of Torry both coming close.

As the second half progressed, however, Torry’s superior strength began to tell and it came as no surprise when a deflected shot from Mandy Martin put then ahead in the 49th minute.

Victory was secured for the Aberdeen team in the 66th minute when livewire Jade Christie outstripped the Golspie defencer and scored with an angular shot from the edge of the box to give Torry a well deservedf 3-1 win and cap a wonderful evening’s entertainment.


Torry Academy: Teri Forbes, Emma Banks (Lindsay Gunn 36′), Claire Simpson, Sarah Gunn, Dianielle Wood, Stacie Harper, Mandy Martin, Jane Forbes, Leeanne Pearson, Jennifer Cooper (Paula Scott 28′), Jade Christie.

Golspie High School: Zoe Taylor, Lisa Rutherford (Donna Macdonald 66′), Jenna McRae (Sara Sutherland 66′), Sara Ross, Debbie Ross, Hayley McLay, Iona Mowat, Kylie Tait, Elaine Gunn, Claire Bonner, Valerie Houston (Leonna Gordon 36′).


SSFA Vice President Douglas Lavin presents the Under 15 Shield to the Torry Academy captain