Broxburn Academy win Senior Shield

Broxburn Academy 7 Turnbull High School 0
Girls’ Senior Shield
Petershill Park
Tuesday 28 May 2019

[fusion_dropcap boxed=”no” boxed_radius=”” class=”” id=”” color=”#3f64a8″]B[/fusion_dropcap]roxburn Academy will insist quite correctly that they are not a one player team after winning the SSFA Senior Girls Shield Final against Turnbull HS, Bishopbriggs at Petershill Park last night. But their goalscoring forward Emma McFadyen was a double hat-trick scoring sensation in the sunshine of Springburn that secured an emphatic win.

Turnbull High never gave up in their efforts to win the final but they found the West Lothian side just too strong all over the field.

McFadyen started her goal scoring spree after only ten minutes of the final when team mate Zoe Evans burst away from the Turnbull defence down the left wing before setting up McFadyen’s goal scoring chance.

Broxburn’s Emma McFadyen opens the scoring

Turnbull keeper, Olivia Sloan, saved a certain goal from Nicole Aitken when she was put through by a great pass by Anna Dickov but she was unable to prevent Emma McFadyen scoring the second goal of the game when the forward was able to walk around the keeper to net after 15 minutes play.

Broxburn coach Rab Swindells was able to make good use of the rolling substitution arrangement and rotated players regularly to ensure all his squad was used in the final.

Even goal hero McFadyen was subbed off after 21 minutes but by this time she had scored her hat trick goal to make it 3 – 0. She cut in off the right wing before sending her shot into the far corner for a great third goal.

Emma McFadyen makes the score 3-0 to Broxburn Academy

Rossha Muirhead, who was booked early in the game, was marshalling her excellent defence strongly meaning the keeper Tegayn Hamilton was not called in to action.

Turnbull winger Clare Goldie looked a threat but she found it difficult to make much impact as Broxburn were firmly in control.

Defender Eilidh Kenny tried to lead her defence by example but against a stiff breeze and strong opposition they struggled to create many goal scoring chances.

Before half time the Broxburn goal scoring machine had added a further two goals in the 35th and 39th minutes when she was re – introduced to the game after a short period off. This made the half time score 5 -0 to Broxburn.

Both players and spectators could see that a miracle comeback in the second half from Turnbull was unlikely but to their credit the Bishopbriggs side kept trying hard.

After 50 minutes Emma McFadyen completed a notable double hat trick. A clearance from Turnbull struck her team mate and the rebounded ball landed at her feet for her to score a remarkable sixth goal.

Emma McFadyen scores a double hat-trick for Broxburn Academy

Tegayn Hamilton saved well at the feet of Clare Goldie and young substitute Rachel McGuire shot just wide as Turnbull kept going and looking to score.

Both teams made multiple rolling substitutions as the game drew to a close. With five minutes to play Rossha Muirhead, now playing further forward, scored again for Broxburn.

Rossha Muirhead scores Broxburn Academy’s final goal

Muirhead received her marching orders for a second bookable offence in the final minutes of the game.

The game finished with Broxburn well on top but Turnbull fought right to the end and deserve a lot of credit for doing so.

Stuart McCaffery, COO of the Scottish Football Partnership & Trust, Shield Sponsors, presents the shield to the winning captain Tegayn Hamilton of Broxburn Academy

Broxburn Academy – Tegayn Hamilton ( capt), Ellie morgan, Leah Clark, Anna Dickov, Intira Saman, Madison Emms, Morgan McCauley, Nicole Aitken, Aylee Ross, Emily Grant, Molly Baxter, Rossha Muirhead, Zoe Evans, Eilidh Howard, Emma McFadyen, Tora Wik, Sandy McLean. Injured – Jessica McFadyen, Shanon Green. Staff Mr Rab Swindells.

Turnbull High School – Olivia Sloan, Sophie McGlynn, Teoni Kemmett, Eilidh Milligan, Molly McDermid, Lily Began, Megan Docherty, Eva Ralston ( Capt), Jude Connolly, Clare Goldie, Christina Hill, Mair Johnstone, Eilidh Kenny, Sophie McBride Rachel McGuire. Staff Mr Gary Sloan, Mr Paul John Corr, Mr Lee Thompson and Mr Patrick Walker

Share this post